ellagee’s Villainous Holo-ween Collection: Maleficent and Hades Duo Swatches & Review

Villainous Holo-ween Collage

I love Halloween and who doesn’t love Disney?!  So I was super excited when Laura of ellagee asked it I would review some of her polishes from the upcoming Villainous Holo-ween Collection inspired by the quirky Disney villains we all love.  This collection contains eight polish duos that are all based on a different Disney villain.  Each set has an incredible holo polish and a coordinating glitter topper.  Pre-orders for these polishes begin on 9/5/2014 and can be purchased separately or as a set.   I was sent the Maleficent and Hades Duos to swatch and review and just love them, let’s take a look…

I had to try the Maleficent Duo based on the Disney movie Sleeping Beauty first because, I’ll admit, she has always been one of the scariest and most evil villains to me.  I can still hear her voice and laugh in my head, “Fools! Idiots! Imbeciles!” and “Now shall you deal with me and all the powers of HELL! bwahaha!

Maleficent

Now Shall You Deal With ME! is a sparkling lime green polish with intense linear and scattered holographic shimmer and flashes of gold.  This polish perfectly captures the color of her green flames.  The formula was flawless, I used two thin coats and my Vapid Lacquer Topcoat for all these pictures.  The holo-fire was so intense in the sun and under led lights and the gold shimmer really came through in lower lighting.

Now Shall You Deal With Me 1

Now Shall You Deal With Me 2 Now Shall You Deal With Me 3

Now Shall You Deal With Me 4

Now Shall You Deal With Me 5

Mistress Of All Evil is a clear top coat with a mix of black, purple, and hot pink holo glitters.  It was made to go perfectly with Now Shall You Deal with ME!, so I tried it over that first.  Some of the other blogger/swatchers used the glitter topcoats over other colors and I LOVE the versatility with these!  You have so many options and they look amazing over so many colors.  In these pictures I used 1 coat over Now Shall You Deal With ME!  It went on so easily, no fishing, dabbing or placing the glitter needed, and as a bonus, it dried SO smooth I probably could have gotten away without a topcoat!

Maleficent Combo 1

Maleficent Combo 2

I know this was made to be a topper, but I sure do love a good glitter bomb and couldn’t resist trying to use it alone too.  I used 3 coats in these pictures to get full coverage.  Mistress of All Evil is SO sparkly and my camera refused to cooperate so I used a couple blurred photos to show off the bling. 🙂

Mistress of All Evil 1

Mistress of All Evil 2

Mistress of All Evil 3

Next up is the Hades Duo based on the Disney movie Hercules and I think I may love these colors even more!  Fine, I’ll admit it, I had to do a little homework for this duo …Hercules must have came out when I wasn’t watching new movies and before I had kids because it is one of the very few Disney flicks I hadn’t seen.   Well, I remedied that with a few clicks on Netflix and the kids sure didn’t mind a bit.  We’ve now watched it umpteen times and have all the songs stuck in our heads. 🙂

Hades

Whoa, Is My Hair Out?  is a sparkling aqua blue with intense linear and scattered holographic shimmer and perfectly captures the blue flames of Hades hair.  The holo in this one is insane and I couldn’t stop staring at my nails!  Again this is 2 thin coats with a top coat and the formula was flawless.

Whoa Is My Hair Out 1

Whoa Is My Hair Out 2

Whoa Is My Hair Out 3

Whoa Is My Hair Out 4

Whoa Is My Hair Out 5
Let’s Get Ready To RUMBLE is a clear top coat with a mix of navy, indigo, and charcoal holo glitters.  In the first pictures I used 1 coat over Whoa Is My Hair Out? and application was once again perfect and so smooth.  Then I used it alone with 3 coats to get full coverage.

Haites Combo 1

Haites Combo 2

Lets Get Ready To Rumble 1

Lets Get Ready To Rumble 2

Lets Get Ready To Rumble 3

What do you think of these?  Who is your favorite villain?  I love that these colors can be used all year and not just specifically for Halloween.  You can get you hands on these starting Friday September 5th, 2014 at 9am CST.  Check out the other amazing Villainous Holo-ween Duos at ellagee.com and follow along on Facebook for release updates and lots more pretty pictures.

Villainous Holo-ween Collage

PRESS SAMPLE:  I was provided these polishes from Laura at ellagee in exchange for my honest review, all opinions are my own.

Leave a Comment